Posted in Fitness, Health, Inspiration, Lifestyle

Wellness Wednesday–To Dust I Shall Return

I know it’s been awhile since I posted for Wellness Wednesday. A great part of that is because pretty much lost my mojo for, not only my fit at work program, but fitness altogether. You see, for the last twenty years I’ve been trying to lose weight. Since the birth of my first child, to be exact. Trying to attain this magic number on the scale or some perfect number inside of a pair of pants, a dress, or a shirt.

Ten years ago I came closer than I’d ever been. Size 6. 135 lbs. Guess what?  Wasn’t good enough. Why? Because my stomach wasn’t flat yet. And I was constantly in the presence of women who had great figures.

The best part of that time was that I felt great! My mood was elevated. I smiled a lot more. 

Today, not only is my stomach not flat, it’s bigger. Boobs are bigger. Face is bigger. The only thing that’s decreased is my self-confidence.

That’s what happens when your confidence is placed in superficial things like the shape of your physical body.

On Ash Wednesday, my awesome bishop reminded me that, “From dust you came, and to dust you’ll return.”

This physical body is not meant to last forever. No matter how much we diet, run on the treadmill, lift weights, at the end of day–of our lives, actually-we’re returning to the dust from whence we came. 

I hadn’t been to an Ash Wednesday service is a few years but for some reason I was determined to make this one. God knew I needed to hear that message. I left that service with a new attitude!

Does that mean I miraculously don’t care about my physical appearance! Of course not! Heck, I went to Zumba last Friday and going again this Friday. 

I’m not suggesting that you don’t care about yours either. Just don’t let your confidence rest in that. It’s a challenge in this society where flat stomachs and small frames are glorified. Therefore, my daily prayers will include a request for my mind to ignore that garbage and focus on caring for and loving my body because it is a temple.

Size 6, 10, or 16, I’m beautiful because I was created in His image. So were you.

Naturally Yours,

L.A.

Author:

Women's fiction author, health and wellness enthusiast, and woman of God sharing her life with fellow bloggers and blog readers.

2 thoughts on “Wellness Wednesday–To Dust I Shall Return

  1. This is such a great reminder. A lot of times we want to lose weight for aesthetic reasons, and in reality, it doesn’t matter how great you look when you die because it’s all going to wither anyway. With that said, good luck on your continued weight-loss journey. It can be tough/

Leave a Reply

