Posted in Uncategorized

A Necessary DIY Break

  
I’ve been a proud DIY’er for several years. Not only do I love the money saving aspect of it but when it comes to hair I also love the control. No offense to hair care professionals, but it’s too common of a practice for the professionals to lose sight of hair care because they’re prioritizing money. If I’d say so myself, I’ve done a pretty good job taking care of my hair with few bumps in the road along the way, always knowing what my hair needs and when.

Nonetheless, when that all-knowing voice of God tells me to do something different, I must take heed.  As the green leaves on the trees turned to various shades of reds and browns and the air became more crisp, I got my annual itch to straighten my hair. This usually happens after I’ve exhausted all my styling options throughout the summer months on my textured hair and I’m ready for a break. 

After back and forth text messages with the hair care professional (it’s her side gig and she takes her time and is all about healthy hair) who I wanted to do my hair, I finally made it in her chair on a weekday evening. Leaning back in the shampoo bowl, I acquiesced to the gentle scalp massaging shampoo process, welcoming this pampering that I didn’t realize I’d been missing and a light bulb went off in my head. 

“This has got to be a monthly, if not bi-weekly, treat.”

Several months ago I entered the world of caregiving–for my husband, no less. And to be totally honest, it’s a lot of work and mentally exhausting at times. I don’t have the time, or don’t want to spend the free time I do have, doing more work. More inportantly, I recognize the vital importance of allowing someone to take care of me. In honor of National Family Caregivers Month,  I’m committing to adding professional monthly hair care to my schedule. Not only do I deserve, but my husband deserves it too. The better I feel, the better I can take care of him.

For right now, I’m rocking my natural hair straight, still implementing healthy hair practices like no heat, maintaining moisture, protecting my ends. Straight hair is no excuse for bad hair care.

If you’re a caregiver like me, follow my lead and make sure you do something monthly or weekly for yourself! Share your ideas in the comment section below.

Naturally Yours,

L.A.

Author:

Women's fiction author, health and wellness enthusiast, and woman of God sharing her life with fellow bloggers and blog readers.

Leave a Reply

