Posted in Uncategorized

National Healthy Eating Day

National Healthy Eating Day is one of the many initiatives created by the American Heart Association to accomplish their mission of “building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke.” This is my second year participating in conjunction with the Health Awareness Committee of an employee resource group of which I’m a member. Our goal as a committee is to bring awareness to this initiative  to our members so that they will make better efforts at eating healthy.

As the newsletter editor, I advised our membership of the day and one of co-workers issued the call to our building occupants to participate by bringing in healthy food items to share with their work groups. In my department, myself and one of the managers supplied oranges, pears, apples, and grapefruit. And my coworker brought in her Nutri-Bullet and some fresh spinach, mangos, pineapples, and bananas and dazzled us with her smoothie making skills. Can you say DELICIOUS??? I would be remiss if I didn’t add that she also brought some vanilla cream flavored powdered Muscle Milk and orange flavored Fiber powder. Those two ingredients will definitely be making their way into my smoothies at home.

National Healthy Eating Day is an excellent idea for those new to the game of good nutrition  and exercise. But I’ve been on this track for quite some time–20 yrs to be exact. I’ve been reluctant to give up many of the goodies I enjoy, thinking it was  okay to eat moderately healthy during the week and spend the weekend indulging in foods high in fat, sugar, and  sodium. Never achieving my dream body is my consequence to those actions. Still, I became a healthier person along the way.

I switched from ground beef to turkey. Before it became popular, I switched from white rice to brown. Acknowledging my weakness to chocolate and sugar, in general, I don’t keep them in bulk in my kitchen, though I’ve been known to take a quick trip to the store to satisfy a craving (nope, I’m not perfect).

  
Sautéed broccoli and peppers. A side dish like this is the norm in my house now.  My other favorite is a side of cucumbers and tomatoes when I’m lacking an actual salad.

Even when I’m not consistent with the gym I’m committed to exercise. I loathe sedentary. Although the responsibility of taking the dogs out belong to my son, I often do it, just for the opportunity to walk. Lately I’ve been hitting the sheets earlier, being less of a slave to the tube, making it easier to wake up at 5 a.m. I use the time to pray and exercise, if I’ve properly prepared for the day the night before.

If you’re new to National Healthy Eating Day, don’t stop now. Build on the momentum of this day! 

Author:

Women's fiction author, health and wellness enthusiast, and woman of God sharing her life with fellow bloggers and blog readers.

Leave a Reply

