Posted in Beauty, Hair, Hair Styles, Lifestyle, Natural Hair, Protective Styling, Women

April Natural Hair Styling Challenge

I really, sorta, kind of wanted to exercise after work yesterday. But since I spent the weekend relaxing with the family, I neglected my weekend errands including grocery shopping. Two days of ordering pizza for dinner was more than enough motivation not to put off the inevitable any longer. So when we reached home at the end of the work day I was running back out on a mission replenish my kitchen for the week. THEN…my hair was screaming for a reprieve. Besides spritzing  with water, I hadn’t done anything to it in over a week. I transitioned from a twist out, to a high puff and I’d planned to see how long I could make it like that but my hair put an abrupt stop to that game plan. 

It was 8 o’clock at night and I did NOT want to bother with hair but I had to–said my hair. I cowashed and spent the least amount of time on my hair on even a cowash day than I ever had. After lazily rubbing a leave-in throughout my hair, I plaited my hair–with thoughts of my natural hair sorority sister who said that’s all she does with her hair–and hoped for the best in the morning. Only thing is, she’s been natural for nearly 10 years so she’s got this stuff down packed. 

I don’t.  :((

First, my hair didn’t dry all the way. Seems no matter how little product I use in my hair, it refuses to dry properly overnight. The only style I could come up with and not be late for work was:

  

I was still cute but, still, the time has come for a new challenge. No more hiding behind twist-outs and protective styles. I MUST learn how to style my hair in a short amount of time, with minimal prep the night before.

Stay tuned!

Naturally Yours,

L.A.

Author:

Women's fiction author, health and wellness enthusiast, and woman of God sharing her life with fellow bloggers and blog readers.

Leave a Reply

