Posted in Uncategorized

Would You Be Natural If…

It wasn’t the latest thing to do?

IMG_5763

If your significant other didn’t like it?

IMG_5760

If your job considered it unprofessional?

forsale

If you were vying for a promotion?

IMG_5761

I can’t really say for sure. What I can say is that I’m grateful for the women who were going against the grain before it became the popular thing to do. Perhaps if not for them, this new wave of embracing our kinks wouldn’t exist. On a personal note, I am grateful to be with a man who hasn’t expressed any negativity towards the various natural ways that I style my hair. Aside from the, “You’re the only woman I’ve known who’s done so many different things to their hair”, he’s pretty much silent on the issue. At nearly 50 years old, I guess the least of his concerns about his wife is how she wears her hair. That works wonderfully for me as it gives me the freedom to explore until my hearts content.

As far as the workplace and moving up the corporate ladder–at this point in my life I don’t want to be anywhere that I can’t be myself. Now we’re not talking wild, unkempt hair in the workplace. We’re talking un-straightened, neatly styled kinky African American hair. If a particular position has a problem with that, then that’s not the position for me. I want a position that I fit comfortably into, not a position that I have to alter myself to get.

What say you?

Naturally Yours,

L.A. 

Author:

Women's fiction author, health and wellness enthusiast, and woman of God sharing her life with fellow bloggers and blog readers.

Leave a Reply

