Posted in Lifestyle, Natural Hair

Natural Hair Confession

I can’t believe I’m saying this but it’s the God’s honest truth. At least it’s the truth as I see it right now. Drum roll please…

20130418-080751.jpg

“Managing my hair is easier when it’s straightened!”

Aaahhh! I hope this doesn’t revoke my naturalista membership benefits–whatever those are. 😄

When I style my hair without heat I find myself having to “do” my hair more often than I want to. Washing and detangling my hair is a chore that I don’t always have the time and patience for.

No heat hair styles require more product in my hair and more product in my hair leads to the need for washing the product out. Sometimes that’s just too much.

When I straighten it, life gets really simple. Wrap it, pin curl it, or brush it into a ponytail. In a nutshell, that’s it.

I’ve noticed that I’m a lot less distracted and stressed about my hair when it’s straightened. Interesting, huh?

I’ve been checked enough by my straight hair “natural” sistahs–those who don’t chemically treat their hair–that they are no less natural than those natural sistahs rocking their kinky, curly hair. Truth is, they’re absolutely right.

It’s more than one way to wear natural hair. TWA, Locs, Twists, natural curls, AND straightened!

Why the need for separation? Shouldn’t the focus be on healthy hair care rather than style?

For the record, just because I straightened my hair via blow dryer and flat iron doesn’t mean that I have to continually use apply heat to my hair. Im just as much focused on protective styling with the ultimate goal of length retention.

So what does all of this mean for my natural hair life? A healthy combination of heat and non-heat applied hair styling, possibly more straightened than not.

We’ll see. Til later naturalistas!

L.A. 😘

Author:

Women's fiction author, health and wellness enthusiast, and woman of God sharing her life with fellow bloggers and blog readers.

Leave a Reply

