Posted in Natural Hair

A New Year, A Clearer Natural Hair Direction

Disclaimer: This post was composed before my natural hair meltdown in the previous post. After reviewing the goals in this post, I feel renewed.

I’ve got a lot going on this year: new book coming out (prayerfully I stay on track), daughter graduating high school (Wow..Time flies!), centennial celebration of the BEST sorority (DELTA SIGMA THETA SORORITY!)

If that’s not enough to be excited about, I’m also excited about my natural hair! This first six months of my natural hair journey has been interesting–to say the least–but I wouldn’t trade it for the world!

With transitioning from locs to loose natural hair, the most important lesson that I’ve learned is to only “do” my hair when I have adequate time. Watch any natural hair “wash-n-go” video on YouTube and you’ll quickly see what I mean. Just about everything you do with natural hair takes some time, even when the YouTuber claims it’s something quick. BTW, that’s not a complaint–at least, not at this moment–it’s just a fact of life for my natural hair life.

My 2013 goals include:

1. Length retention–Naturally my aim is growth, but I have to, first, retain the length that I have.

2. Learn more–While I want to stay as far away from being a product junkie, I have to try different products to determine what produces the best results for my hair. For example, after months of suffering from flaky scalp, I realized that it was Herbal African’s Best Oil that was causing the flakes. It works great on skin BUT not my hair.

3. Straighten Less, Protect More: On my YouTube channel (http://youtube.com/mslabooks) you’ll see what brought me to this point. Breakage! Yikes! Before this you couldn’t tell me that I wasn’t taking care of my hair. Yet, something went awry. And I can’t have that!. I didn’t take ALL that time (2 or 3 wks, I can’t remember) combing my locs out to have my hair breaking from only God knows what! Therefore, this year, I plan to get back to more two strand twist styles. That worked wonders for my hair pre-locs so to them I shall return. I’m also going to put it out there now–I may even try a weave or braid extensions. Mainly because I want some color but don’t want to damage my hair. Scratch that, actually it’s because sometimes I don’t feel like doing my hair.

Author:

Women's fiction author, health and wellness enthusiast, and woman of God sharing her life with fellow bloggers and blog readers.

Leave a Reply

