Posted in Uncategorized

Why I Rock Locs

L.A.'s Locks 6/2011

Simply stated, I rock locs because I don’t see any other way to rock my hair. Not only are they beautiful, but they have a style of their own even when I’ve made no effort whatsoever to style them. Honestly, that’s at the top of the list. Some people may call that lazy. I prefer to call it convenient. Why shouldn’t I be able to get out of bed and literally get up and go? When I wake up in the morning, my hair is already ready to wear! That’s the life! And I’m loving it!

Interestingly, and unbelievable to many, I have so many more styling options with my own hair in locs than I did when I was straightening my hair and adding extensions, which I’m proud to say I didn’t do very often. Plus, I’m happier with my hair and find myself comparing my hair to the hair of others far less than I did before locs.

Like most other loc rockers, I didn’t wake up one morning and decide to loc my hair. That’s not how it works. While it may not be making a lifelong commitment–some may disagree, it’s certainly a life changing decision and expected to be longterm, meaning one year or more. Mainly because it is a PROCESS. A process that tests ones discipline, determination, and patience. Except those loc rockers who cheat and get loc extensions so they don’t have to go through the stages of locking, none of our locs started out as beautiful as they are after about 8 months to a year later. But that process makes you appreciate them all the more.

Today I’m 3 1/2 years loc’d. To date, locking my hair is at the top of my list of best decisions I’ve made in my life! I look forward to sharing my loc life with other loc rockers and potential loc rockers.

Author:

Women's fiction author, health and wellness enthusiast, and woman of God sharing her life with fellow bloggers and blog readers.

Leave a Reply

